Since November 30, 1971.

2016 Student Journalist of the Year Award

Entry criteria | Enter onlineDownload the flyer

Bridget Davies receives 2015 Student Journalist of the Year Award

The Melbourne Press Club Student Journalist of the Year Award recognises and promotes excellence in Victorian student journalism. The winner of the 2016 prize (for work published in 2016) will be named at the Melbourne Press Club Quill Awards – to be held on Friday 17 March 2017.

Student Journalist of the Year Honour Roll

The 2016 prize includes:

  • Return airfares to the United States, accommodation and registration to attend the annual Investigative Reporters and Editors (IRE) conference in Phoenix, Arizona.
  • 12 months membership of the Melbourne Press Club
  • Fame and glory! (The winner will be presented with a certificate on-stage at the Quill Awards night in March 2017.)

The Melbourne Press Club 2016 Student Journalist of The Year Award is sponsored by The Vizard Foundation.

Student Journalist Bridget Davies and Young Journalist Tom Minear reporting back on 2016 IRE conference

More on the IRE conference from Young Journalist Award winners

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $75 for journalists, $95 for associate members and $30 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.