2017 Harry Gordon Australian Sports Journalist of the Year

The Harry Gordon Australian Sports Journalist of the Year Award, now in its third year, recognises excellence in sports journalism in all media across all codes and all regions of Australia.

The winner receives a $10,000 prize, a certificate and national recognition for their achievement.

The prize is provided by the Melbourne Press Club with support from the Club’s joint principal sponsor, Virgin Australia.

Harry Gordon, one of the greatest war correspondents, sports writers and editors of his generation, died in January 2015, aged 89.

At the Quills Dinner in March 2018, Will Swanton of The Australian was named the 2017 Australian Sports Journalist of the Year.


See more about 2017 winner Will Swanton

About Harry Gordon

Harry Gordon award brochure

2017 Harry Gordon award eligibility and criteria

See the Harry Gordon award honour roll

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $85 for journalists, $110 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.