Media Release: Melbourne Press Club announces board members for 2022/2023

The Melbourne Press Club is pleased to announce the following board appointments from the AGM and subsequent board meeting held on 15 June 2022.

  • President – Ashlynne McGhee
  • Vice-Presidents – Nick McKenzie and Heidi Murphy
  • Secretary – Richard Leder
  • Treasurer – Veronica Scott
  • Board – Tito Ambyo, Ashley Argoon, Patrick Considine, Rachael Dexter, Fotis Kapetopoulos, Matilda Marozzi, Patrick O’Beirne, Paul Paton, Tom Salom, Lynne Scrivens, Nicole Strahan and Richard Willingham.

All board members were deemed elected unopposed as the Club received 17 nominees for 20 board positions. CEO, Cathy Bryson welcomes returning board members and in particular welcomes new board appointment; Tito Ambyo.

Outgoing Club President, Nick McKenzie says of his time as President.

"It's been a real privilege to lead the MPC over the last two years. We have been fortunate to hold terrific in-person Quill award evenings despite lockdowns, delivered great masterclasses and other events for our members, become a vital hub for young journalists and taken important steps towards embracing diversity."

President, Ashlynne McGhee says it’s an honour to be elected to lead the club.

“The Melbourne Press Club is a vibrant organisation that celebrates the best of Victorian journalism through the Quills. We have a great calendar of events coming up and a big focus on supporting the next generation of journalists through mentoring, The Edit and our masterclass program. We’ve got lots more work to do and I’m looking forward to rolling up my sleeves and working with our members to make our club the best it can be.”

The Melbourne Press Club thanks outgoing board members for their tremendous contributions; Eileen Berry, Jude Donnelly, Kate McGrath and Justin Quill.

We look forward with enthusiasm to the year ahead and to delivering events that focus on the requirements of our membership.

Cathy Bryson
Melbourne Press Club

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $85 for journalists, $110 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.