Since November 30, 1971.

2016 Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year Award

Entries have opened for the 2016 Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year Award – the most coveted prize in Australian journalism.

The award – now in its 41st year – is open to all Australian journalists in all media and recognises memorable and extraordinary journalistic work.

Named in honour of legendary editor Graham Perkin, the award carries a $20,000 prize supported by The Age, Perkin’s old newspaper.  It is also sponsored by Virgin Australia, a Principal Sponsor of the Melbourne Press Club.

The independent judges for this year’s award are Ray Martin, Lenore Taylor and Caroline Wilson.

The deadline for all entries is Thursday 2 February 2017. Finalists will be named in early March and winners announced at the Melbourne Press Club’s annual Quill awards dinner at Crown Palladium on Friday 17 March. Bookings for the dinner will open in early February.

To enter the Perkin award, please see our eligibility and criteria page then apply online by clicking here.  

To read more about legendary Age editor Graham Perkin and watch videos from our 2015 Graham Perkin Memorial Dinner, click here.      






To see the Graham Perkin honour roll, click here








Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $75 for journalists, $95 for associate members and $30 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.