Since November 30, 1971.

Young Journalist of the Year

2015 Melbourne Press Club Young Journalist of the Year Tom Minear accepting his award at the Quills night

The Young Journalist of the Year Award acknowledges the best reporting from early career journalists working in Victoria. 

The award is presented at the annual Melbourne Press Club Quill Awards night – the prestigious “night of nights” for journalism in Victoria, which is supported and attended by the state’s major media outlets.

To enter the 2016 Young Journalist of the Year Award through our Quill Awards entry site, click on the image below.

Young Journalists of the Year Honour Roll

The 2016 prize (for work published in 2016) will be presented at the Quills Award night on 17 March 2017. It includes:

Student Journalist Bridget Davies and Young Journalist Tom Minear reporting back on 2016 IRE conference

 More on the IRE conference from Young Journalist Award winners

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $75 for journalists, $95 for associate members and $30 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.