Since November 30, 1971.

Student Journalist of the Year

Tess Ikonomou won the 2016 Student Journalist of the Year Award

Entry criteria | Enter onlineDownload the flyer

Entries are open for the 2017 Student Journalist of the Year Award.

The Award winner will receive return airfares to the United States to attend the annual Investigative Reporters and Editors (IRE) conference and accommodation and registration to the conference.

The winner will also receive 12 months’ membership of the Melbourne Press Club.

The Award is open to Victorian students whose work has been published in outlets available to the public in 2017. The judges give priority to originality, impact, quality and initiative.

Entries close at 5pm on 29 December 2017. 

For entry criteria and to enter this year's award, click on the links above.

Student Journalist Tess Ikonomou and Young Journalist Bridget Judd report back on their experiences at the 2017 IRE conference.

More on the IRE conference from Young Journalist Award winners

2016 Young Student of the Year Tess Ikonomou

Student Journalist of the Year Honour Roll

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $85 for journalists, $110 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.