Since November 30, 1971.

2016 Harry Gordon Australian Sports Journalist of the Year

Entries have opened for the 2016 Harry Gordon Australian Sports Journalist of the Year Award.

The award, now in its second year, recognises excellence in sports journalism in all media across all codes and all regions of Australia.

The winner will receive a $10,000 prize, a certificate and national recognition for their achievement.

The prize is provided by the Melbourne Press Club with support from the Club’s joint principal sponsor, Virgin Australia.

Harry Gordon, one of the greatest war correspondents, sports writers and editors of his generation, died in January 2015.

Last year’s inaugural winner was Gerard Whateley of the ABC.

This year’s independent judges for the award are Neil Mitchell, Roy Masters and Louise Evans. 

The deadline for entries is Thursday 2 February 2017. The finalists will be named in early March and the winner announced at the annual Quill awards dinner in Melbourne on Friday 17 March.

To enter the Gordon award, please see our eligibility and criteria page then apply online by clicking here.  


To find out more about Harry Gordon's illustrious career, click here.      









Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $75 for journalists, $95 for associate members and $30 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.