Since November 30, 1971.

2017 Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year

The Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year Award is the most coveted prize in Australian journalism. The winner receives a $20,000 prize, a certificate and permanent recognition for excellence. The Perkin is independently administered by the Melbourne Press Club, which appoints the judges. The award is sponsored by The Age and Virgin Australia.

Caro Meldrum-Hanna was named the 2016 Australian Journalist of the Year for her reporting for Four Corners on abuses at the Don Dale Detention Centre in the Northern Territory.

The award will be presented at the 2017 Quill Awards for Excellence in Victorian Journalism at Crown Palladium on 16 March 2018.


Eligibility and judging criteria

Enter the Graham Perkin award

42nd annual Perkin award brochure

About legendary Age editor Graham Perkin  

About the 2015 Graham Perkin Memorial Dinner

Last year's Graham Perkin Award winners & finalists

Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year Honour Roll

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $85 for journalists, $110 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.