Since November 30, 1971.

2017 Student Journalist of the Year

Carol Saffer, of Monash University won the 2017 Student Journalist of the Year Award for her investigation of the struggles of an Australian office supply family business in the face of a merger between two international rivals.

'The $10 billion battle for nation's stationery cupboards', The Age, 2 October 2017

Other finalists

Marnie Cohen (Deakin University)

Jane McNaughton (University of Melbourne)

Zalika Rizmal (RMIT)

Angus Smith (Monash University)

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $85 for journalists, $110 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.