2018 Quills: The TAC Towards Zero Quill for Road Safety Reporting

Jacqui Peake, Billy Lim, Martin Elliott & Warwick Ferguson of Network Ten's The Project won the 2018 TAC Towards Zero Quill for Road Safety Reporting for their work 'Train Driver Trauma'.

Judges' citation

This story on train driver trauma went beyond the stats and facts of crashes at rail crossings, with a confronting look at the emotional toll carried by train drivers, long after emergency services have left the scene. A well crafted piece that engages the viewer from the first second to the last.

The winning entry

'Train driver trauma', Network Ten's The Project, 23 April 2018

Highly Commended

Timna Jacks of The Age for 'The Problem of Pedestrian Deaths on Our Roads'

Other finalists

Dean Felton of Seven News for 'Truck Blitz'

Kieran Rooney of the Herald Sun for 'Roads to Ruin: The Trauma Haunting Victoria'

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $85 for journalists, $110 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.